Fight for Rhinos

The world of rhino conservation is all consuming, sometimes torturous, and reward is fleeting. Yet it’s a calling, like any I suppose, that cannot be ignored. Others have heeded the call, some living in the trenches even more overwhelmed with the life and death scenarios on a daily, sometimes hourly basis.

Like many “animal lovers” fed up with the atrocities our fellow humans have committed toward other species, I never considered myself a “people person”. I believed the Baraka n merhinos in essence were in need of help and saving from people.

“Shoot the poachers”, “Save the rhinos”

Yet at some point over the years, something surprising has happened. I realized, like most things, it’s not that simple. What began as a one-tracked repetitive concern of rhinos has transformed into…well, a greater worry, compassion and understanding of humanity.

DSCF9486 LB from RPA, Dr. Fowlds, & Simon from Helping Rhinos in South Africa

I’ve come to understand two…

View original post 180 more words