coffee & varnish

The response garnered on my blog post this week about Memphis Animal Services has been overwhelming – over 2000+ shares across several pages and still going.

When I started writing the post, I wanted to capture what has been going on in Memphis since before I moved here (and continues to this day) and the awful details of the battle others had been fighting well before I arrived.

Quite honestly I was not prepared for some of the questions sent back – “why are the petitions closed?” or “what can we do?” being the most important one.

The first question I can answer easily.  Some of the petitions are closed because they have no impact. The most recent one initiated by SOS Memphis has nearly 6500 signatures and Mayor AC Wharton declined to meet with them, sending an assistant instead.  And there was no discernible positive outcome… like all the…

View original post 1,184 more words

